" Islam " No comments


 What Are the Five Pillars of Islam?

Can you give brief information about the five pillars of Islam?


Five pillars of Islam are the "Arkan’ul Islam"  (أركان الإسلام) as an Arabic term, which are the five duties incumbent on every Muslim. They are stated in the following hadith:

It is narrated on the authority of 'Abdullah son of 'Umar that the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said:

(The superstructure of) al-islam is raised on five (pillars), testifying (the fact) that there is no god but Allah, that Muhammad is His bondsman and messenger, and the establishment of prayer, payment of Zakat, Pilgrimage to the House (Ka'ba) and the fast of Ramadan. 

(Sahih Muslim, Book 1, Hadith 20)


1. Shahadah (profession of faith) (الشهادة)

Shahadah means “to know and believe without suspicion, as if witnessed. "I witness that there is no God but Allah and I witness that Muhammad is his servant and messenger." Non-Muslims wishing to convert to Islam do so by a public recitation of the creed.



2. Salah (prayer) (صلاة)

Salah  is prescribed at five periods of the day. Times of salah are measured according to the movement of the sun.‎ 


3. Sawm (fasting) (صوم)

‎As a fıqh term, "sawm" means “to keep away from eating, drinking and conjugal relations (jima) between husband and wife from dawn untill the sunset (maghrib) consciously and by seeking a goal.


4. Zakat (giving of alms) (زكاة)

A certain fixed proportion of the wealth and of the each and every kind of the property liable to Zakat of a Muslim to be paid yearly for the benefit of the poor in the Muslim community. The payment of Zakat is obligatory as it is one of the five pillars of Islam. Zakat is the major economic means for establishing social justice and leading the Muslim society to prosperity and security. It is the duty of an Ummah (Islamic Community) not just to collect zakat but to distribute it fairly as well.


5. Hajj (pilgrimage to Makkah) (حج)

As a fiqh term "hajj" means the worship done in the Dhul-Hijjah (month) of pilgrimage which is one of the lunar months by accomplishing some religious duties in accordance with their conditions and methods properly in Qa’ba, Arafat, Muzdalifa and Mina. Kaynak: http://askaquestionto.us - What Are the Five Pillars of Islam?

Ask a Question to Us
Leave a comment

1430 - 1438 © © www.AskaQuestionto.us